Chakras – Your Nexi of Power

Chakras are energy centres within the body that impact you on a physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual level. Knowledge of the Chakras is believed to have originated from India, as the religious texts, the Vedas, are the first known documentation of them. In Sanskrit, Chakra means “wheel” or “circle” or “disk.”

There are seven major Chakra centres in the body and thousands of minor ones. The seven major Chakras follow the spinal column up through the body, from the tailbone to the crown of the head.

Each Chakra centre has a corresponding colour and has significance and meaning depending on its vibration. Chakras spin, take in energy and also radiate energy outward. If your Chakras are in balance, you will feel this radiance positively on all levels. They funnel through the body, at the astral level, though, as mentioned before, it is believed that they can influence the body on the physical level as well as the metaphysical.

The following table provides a summary of the seven major Chakra centres, and their most common meanings and influences:

Chakra Sanskrit
in the body
1 Root Muladhara Red Genital
2 Sacral Svadhisthana Orange Over
the reproductive organs
3 Solar
Manipura Yellow Above
the navel
personal power;
4 Heart Anahata Green Between
the nipples
5 Throat Vishuddha Blue At
the throat
6 Third
Ajna Indigo Between
the eyes on the forehead
intuition; perception;
7 Crown Sahasrara Violet Top
of the head

When the Chakras are out of balance, then the corresponding organs and glands can be affected. There are also effects at the mental and spiritual level as well. For example, the physical manifestation of an imbalance in the root Chakra could be constipation. The impact at the mental level could be a lack of trust.

There are a variety of ways to rebalance the Chakras. This could include regular Reiki sessions, Chakra therapy, colour therapy, and more. A variety of Holistic programs are available to help you to find the imbalances and then correct them.

Some simple ways to boost your Chakras are to wear the colours that correspond to the Chakra you wish to balance, add these colours to your home décor, meditate on the Chakra colours, or listen to Chakra balancing meditations, such as Doreen Virtue’s Chakra Clearing: A Morning and Evening Meditation to Awaken Your Spiritual Power.

There is much to learn about Chakras, and this was just a very basic introduction.


Govinda, Kalashatra. (2002). A Handbook of Chakra Healing, China: Konecky & Konecky

Disclaimer: The information on this website is not intended to substitute advice from your physician or health-care professional. Before beginning any health or diet program, consult your physician.